View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:07 pm

Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
 Any advice for a new teacher? 
God Of The Sun

Post Any advice for a new teacher?
A kid in my neighborhood I know just called me this morning and asked if I could give him some lessons. I'm not really close friends with him or anything, but I didn't wanna leave him hangin' and it was a bit of a compliment that he wanted to take lessons from me, so of course I said sure.
Since I haven't had a teacher myself for the last 4 years( onnly , I've basically been learning everything but all that technical theory stuff. I'm still foggy when it comes to notation, sight reading, modes, etc. It's kind of hard to explain, but I'm getting a teacher myself to learn the parts of theory that i'm clueless or unsure of. Anyways, i'm not saying I'm an unfit teacher. My dad's friend called me a prodigy the other day, I 'dunno if that's too accurate or not ( I'm 15, by the way ) :oops: . But anyways, I've got about 5 years experience (especially the last 3 1/2 years, i've practiced as many hours as possible until my body just gives out) so I do consider myself a decent teacher for him, since he's just starting out.
Anyway, with that nonsense said, what do you guys reccomend I start out teaching him with? I remember my first teacher just taught me basic chords, scales, and whatnot. That a good way to go, or do you guys have some better ideas? At the end of our conversation, he told me he was gonna pay me, so that's a definite plus (i was gonna do 'em for free. :roll: ) so I don't wanna be a half-ass teacher. Lemme know what you guys think.

Thanks.

Sat Jan 25, 2003 8:31 pm
Profile YIM
God Of The Sun

You should teach him the basic chords and then the minor pentatonic scale and some bends, so he can solo over pretty much any song and it will boost his confidence that he can solo.