View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:40 pm



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 tubes 
Author Message
IP Banned
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2003 6:38 am
Posts: 598
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Post tubes
i was just wondering if there was any way you could estimate how much life was left in your amp tubes. i'm buying a used amp and don't know if i should change the tubes now or what.

btw it's a marshall jcm 2000 201. 20W baby! lets me crank that thing and get that sweet sweet power amp distortion!


Tue Sep 02, 2003 3:15 am
Profile
IP Banned
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2003 6:38 am
Posts: 598
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Post 
bump...


Wed Sep 03, 2003 3:03 am
Profile
Dr. X
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 8:44 pm
Posts: 159
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Post 
There's no way I've ever heard of that tells you the life left in tubes. The best tool you can use for that is your ears I think. Have an extra set with you if you gig with that amp, just to be sure.

Oh yeah, I can use this opportunity to plug my favorite tubes....JJ's!!!! :twisted:


Wed Sep 03, 2003 3:38 am
Profile WWW
IP Banned
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2003 6:38 am
Posts: 598
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Post 
wow you change your own tubes during a gig?!?! damn. do you bring along all the equipment to bias the tubes and stuff?


Wed Sep 03, 2003 4:28 am
Profile
Dr. X
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 8:44 pm
Posts: 159
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Post 
I don't gig, but I also would not have to re-bias if I re-tube my amp. This is from eurotubes website:

"I order all power tubes factory matched in quads. I then check the match for plate current draw and transconductance using my Maxi-Matcher and rematch when necessary. I grade all my power tubes right down to the milliamp so that I can supply future orders to customers that will exactly match the originals."

Nice huh? :wink:


Wed Sep 03, 2003 5:02 am
Profile WWW
IP Banned
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2003 6:38 am
Posts: 598
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Post 
Creepy Groovy wrote:
I don't gig, but I also would not have to re-bias if I re-tube my amp. This is from eurotubes website:

"I order all power tubes factory matched in quads. I then check the match for plate current draw and transconductance using my Maxi-Matcher and rematch when necessary. I grade all my power tubes right down to the milliamp so that I can supply future orders to customers that will exactly match the originals."

Nice huh? :wink:


i would need to know the draw and transconductance of my current tubes if i was to order another set within the acceptable tolerances that would allow me to just switch without biasing. that could be a pain!


Wed Sep 03, 2003 6:40 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.