View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:47 pm



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 The Analog Delays 
Author Message
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:07 pm
Posts: 5555
Location: Bra-silk
Post The Analog Delays
So, I have a question about analog delays:

When you put them in front of the amp, does the effect become a little "dirty"?

I ask this because whenever I try to overlap notes, to create those nice harmonies players like Brian May use a lot, the 2 notes together (the one is being produced by the delay, and the one I'm playing at the time) become one dirty sound, and I can't hear either one of them.

Is that common? I know digital delays won't have this issue when put in front of the amp.

thanks!

_________________
Image
JeffMartin wrote:
Incredibly cool artwork.
You're hired. :)
For what...I have no clue.


Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:04 pm
Profile YIM
Superhero
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 8:51 pm
Posts: 1360
Location: away from here
Post Re: The Analog Delays
ANY delay into an input will get compressed and dirty, even more so with any gain.
put all types in the loop.

_________________
i am the thread killer.








old fan since 1986.
see ya


Tue Dec 13, 2011 8:18 pm
Profile
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:07 pm
Posts: 5555
Location: Bra-silk
Post Re: The Analog Delays
MMm... I see, thanks for the info...

Too bad my little practice amp doesn't have an effects loop! :chew:

_________________
Image
JeffMartin wrote:
Incredibly cool artwork.
You're hired. :)
For what...I have no clue.


Tue Dec 13, 2011 8:25 pm
Profile YIM
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:37 pm
Posts: 5165
Location: London
Post Re: The Analog Delays
Sir Robin wrote:
MMm... I see, thanks for the info...

Too bad my little practice amp doesn't have an effects loop! :chew:



Make one.

Or ghetto one between the speaker cone and amp out? :chew:

_________________
Thanks MDucran


Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:18 pm
Profile
God Of The Sun
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 10:49 am
Posts: 4801
Location: london baby
Post Re: The Analog Delays
ask yourself a question

do you want to distort your delayed signal?

or do you want to add delay to your distorted signal?

_________________
Suhr GG > peterson strobe 2 > EB wah > Rothwell compressor > Suhr Shiba > Suhr Riot > Jam boomster > Jam ripple > Delay Llama Bogner XTC > EB volume > bi-chorus > cornford 2x12


Wed Dec 14, 2011 3:35 pm
Profile WWW
Dr. X
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 12:50 am
Posts: 213
Location: Canberra, Australia
Post Re: The Analog Delays
Set your amp up for a clean tone, and use a distortion pedal for your dirty tone. Put the delay behind the distortion pedal. You might get a better result that way.


Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:02 pm
Profile
Motorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:05 am
Posts: 308
Post Re: The Analog Delays
I've never had any problems with any digital delay having the problem you describe, but I'll always put my delay dead last in the signal chain. It could be possible your input levels are too loud to the pedal, or outputs from the pedal too loud, or your little practice amp is having trouble processing all that signal clearly. When I run my whole expensive rig through my practice amp it sounds AWFUL. :?


Sun Dec 18, 2011 5:31 am
Profile
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:07 pm
Posts: 5555
Location: Bra-silk
Post Re: The Analog Delays
Well, it sounds the same when I run it through my bigger amp.

I think I got used to a clean dealy sound because my Marshall AVT has built in effects, and the digital delay sounds nice in there...

I'll try running it through the loop channel when I have the chance!

On that issue: does anyone experience very low volumes of pedals while using the FX loop?

_________________
Image
JeffMartin wrote:
Incredibly cool artwork.
You're hired. :)
For what...I have no clue.


Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:12 am
Profile YIM
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:37 pm
Posts: 5165
Location: London
Post Re: The Analog Delays
There may be a level knob for the FX loop somewhere, I know my VC50 does.

_________________
Thanks MDucran


Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:14 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.