View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:04 am



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Computer as a Cabinet 
Author Message
is evil...Evil Joe
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 1:37 am
Posts: 31
Location: The Pridelands
Post Computer as a Cabinet
Okay, so let's say I got a Peavey XXL amp head for Christmas. It could be a while before I get a cabinet to go with it. If I use the output on the amp head, could I plug the amp head straight into something like a mixer or a firewire audio interface like the PreSonus Firestudio mobile?

_________________
-------------------------------------------
Carvin V220 (my baby)
Yamaha Craphole
Kramer Striker 300ST
-----
Marshall MG100HDFX Half-Stack


Sun Dec 11, 2011 5:51 pm
Profile YIM
Godzilla

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:31 pm
Posts: 675
Location: Munich
Post Re: Computer as a Cabinet
Nah, you'll need a load box at least, a speaker simulator or something similar.

I'd also recommend looking for a used head over the Peavey from new; Marshall/Boogie maybe.


Sun Dec 11, 2011 8:48 pm
Profile
Dr. X

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:15 pm
Posts: 248
Post Re: Computer as a Cabinet
Using a valve head without any speakers connected would usually blow it up.
I don't know where the pridelands exactly are, but over here you get a 4x12 from ebay for a hundred bucks or so...
Even if you're not about to keep it, a cheap behringer, fame or harley benton will at least give you something to play with until you can afford
the cab you're after.

http://www.ebay.de/itm/180768466302?ssP ... 1423.l2649


Mon Dec 12, 2011 3:26 pm
Profile
Motorman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:50 pm
Posts: 413
Location: Canada
Post Re: Computer as a Cabinet
If the amp has an effects loop you could just connect the speaker output to some dummy jack with the right impedance and turn the master volume to 0 and then take the effects loop output and plug that into a line level audio input on your computer, where you could do the appropriate cab sim and listen on your monitors. This denies you any of the flavor that the actual power amp stage would give to the sound but in my experience this is much milder than what the pre-amp / gain stage does and should get you what you are looking for. I do this with my HT-5 sometimes and it sounds pretty good.


Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:32 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.