View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:19 pm



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
 Floyd rose question 
Author Message
Dr. X
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 238
Location: South Holland, Netherlands
Post Floyd rose question
Hey guys. I just bought a new guitar the Schecter C-1 FR and i was asking myself how i could tune the guitar to drop-d or other tunings and return to normal e-tuning. I am new to locking tremolo's so if you guys could help me out or give links?? thx in advance

Greets,,

_________________
Leroy..


Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:17 pm
Profile WWW
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 6:46 pm
Posts: 5489
Location: Torrance California
Post 
Going to drop D is easy if you get a EVH Dtuna http://www.dtuna.com/ That will let you quickly switch between drop D and standard E.

You can't easily use other tunings unless you lock the trem. You could install a tremolno http://tremol-no.com/ You could lock trem and use other tunings, but if you unlocked it before switching back to standard tuning your trem won't be level where it should be.


Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:08 pm
Profile
Dr. X
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 238
Location: South Holland, Netherlands
Post 
xjustice09x wrote:
Going to drop D is easy if you get a EVH Dtuna http://www.dtuna.com/ That will let you quickly switch between drop D and standard E.

You can't easily use other tunings unless you lock the trem. You could install a tremolno http://tremol-no.com/ You could lock trem and use other tunings, but if you unlocked it before switching back to standard tuning your trem won't be level where it should be.


you mean blocking the trem by putting something underneath that wont make it sink back into its cavity??

_________________
Leroy..


Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:19 pm
Profile WWW
Godzilla
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:25 am
Posts: 549
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Post 
A floating trem such as your C-1 will only be able to switch tunings while locked in place. This of course, prevents being able to pull the trem sharp (up).

You can have switch tuning and dive only, or full floating and no switch tuning.

The use of a tremol-no will allow the former.


Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:47 pm
Profile
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 6:46 pm
Posts: 5489
Location: Torrance California
Post 
Haze wrote:
you mean blocking the trem by putting something underneath that wont make it sink back into its cavity??


I have a blocked floyd on an RG. You don't put anything underneath it from the top of the guitar. In the trem cavity on the back of the guitar wedge pieces of wood or some hard material between the trem block and the guitar body. Then the trem shouldn't move.

It might look something like this
Image


Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:30 pm
Profile
Motorman
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 11:51 pm
Posts: 426
Post 
unless you block the bridge, it will throw your intonation and tone and waaay off.

well.. maybe not if you're just going to drop d. but anything fancier and its not a pretty thing.

_________________
jual gilberete wrote:
Well sonny, youre in luck! I've been working on a Michael Romeo sweep-tapping technique for the penis.


Wed Dec 30, 2009 12:03 am
Profile
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2002 6:40 am
Posts: 11619
Location: Across The Universe
Post 
Haze maybe I missed where you said it but is it a "floating" trem or is it a "set" trem ??


Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:22 am
Profile
Dr. X
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 238
Location: South Holland, Netherlands
Post 
It is an original floyd rose floating tremolo.

_________________
Leroy..


Wed Dec 30, 2009 12:36 pm
Profile WWW
Tab Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 1:15 am
Posts: 4931
Location: Here
Post 
I tuned my Schaller trem from D standard down to Dropped C just by doing it as if it were a fixed bridge guitar...

Literally, unscrew the locking nuts, tune the 6th string down to D, then retune all the other strings to standard...then retune the E to D perfectly again and then retune the other strings etc etc.

It took me about 15 seconds to get it perfectly in tune and it plays exactly as it did before!!


Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:07 pm
Profile
Dr. X
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 238
Location: South Holland, Netherlands
Post 
does the tremolo stay flush this way??

_________________
Leroy..


Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:41 pm
Profile WWW
Tab Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 1:15 am
Posts: 4931
Location: Here
Post 
Haze wrote:
does the tremolo stay flush this way??


Yep!


Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:49 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.