View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:00 pm



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 Paul's Hotplate on 4ohms?? Modded 2266c? 
Author Message
Godzilla
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 11:40 pm
Posts: 563
Location: Southampton U.K.
Post Paul's Hotplate on 4ohms?? Modded 2266c?
I was just posting a pic I took of Pauls rig on the Vintage Modern forum and noticed that his THD Hotplate is set for 4ohms load.

My VM combo outputs at 8ohms. So has Paul got the wrong setting or has he modded his amp in some way?

Both speakers in the cab are mic'ed up so he's using both of them.

Very strange.

Any ideas?


Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:55 pm
Profile
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 6:46 pm
Posts: 5489
Location: Torrance California
Post Re: Paul's Hotplate on 4ohms?? Modded 2266c?
Supernaught wrote:
I was just posting a pic I took of Pauls rig on the Vintage Modern forum and noticed that his THD Hotplate is set for 4ohms load.

My VM combo outputs at 8ohms. So has Paul got the wrong setting or has he modded his amp in some way?

Both speakers in the cab are mic'ed up so he's using both of them.

Very strange.

Any ideas?


The Hot plate comes in 5 colors each color is a different impedance. You can't change their impedance. From all the pics I have seen he is using a purple hotplate. The Purple hotplate is 8ohms.

You were probably looking at the knob on the left which controls the level of attenuation. It was probably in the -4db spot which means it would attenuate the signal by 4 db. It has nothing to do with the impedance.

_________________
Image


Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:51 am
Profile
Godzilla
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 11:40 pm
Posts: 563
Location: Southampton U.K.
Post 
Youre absolutely right. I was looking at the knob on the left and I saw 4, 8 and 16. As the knob on the right looks like the main volume I assumed the left was ohms.

What a muppet I am!


Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:38 am
Profile
Motorman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 6:09 pm
Posts: 357
Location: England
Post 
from Manchester
Image

purple it is.

_________________
Jaden Rose Guitars
Don't look down on anyone, unless you are helping them up.


Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:00 pm
Profile WWW
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 6:46 pm
Posts: 5489
Location: Torrance California
Post 
Supernaught wrote:
Youre absolutely right. I was looking at the knob on the left and I saw 4, 8 and 16. As the knob on the right looks like the main volume I assumed the left was ohms.

What a muppet I am!


The knob on the right also controls attenuation, but only when the knob on the left is set to -16db. It allows you to get any attenuation level between -16 and -infinity (no signal output to speakers).

_________________
Image


Mon Dec 01, 2008 6:40 pm
Profile
Godzilla

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 747
Location: London
Post 
Hold up. Question time, prepare for my utter stupidity.

Doesn't an attenuator like the Hotplate go between the head and the cab on a stack?

How does this work with a combo? Effects loop?

_________________
Image


Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:38 pm
Profile
Dr. X
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 2:16 am
Posts: 203
Location: NYC
Post 
Nope. On tube combos like the VM, the speaker cable is plugged into a jack on the back of the "head" section of the amp. You just unplug the speaker and plug it into the attenuator instead.


Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:16 pm
Profile
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 6:46 pm
Posts: 5489
Location: Torrance California
Post 
AzzaDutt wrote:
Hold up. Question time, prepare for my utter stupidity.

Doesn't an attenuator like the Hotplate go between the head and the cab on a stack?

How does this work with a combo? Effects loop?


The effects loop is usually between the preamp and the power amp in the head or combo. You want to lower the output of the signal after the power amp, not before it.

Some combos have output jacks that the speaker is plugged into, just like on a head. The hotplate goes between output jack and the speakers.

Some combos don't have an output jack so the speaker is directly wired to the speaker. Without some modification you can't use a hotplate.

_________________
Image


Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:20 pm
Profile
Godzilla

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 747
Location: London
Post 
But it does work with the Marshall VM Combo then. Nice, another thing going for it.

_________________
Image


Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:04 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.