View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:01 am



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 Dimarzio Pickups (Again) 
Author Message
is evil...Evil Joe
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 12:42 am
Posts: 57
Post Dimarzio Pickups (Again)
So i decided to to get a Tone Zone for the bridge and a PAF PRO in the neck but what should i put in the middle? Its for an RG550 Ibanez, im looking for clear crisp sound thats aggressive kind of like Racer X (Street Lethal, Second Heat) to Whitesnake (1987) any suggestians? I was thinking of putting a Dimarzio HS-2 pickup in the middle, but im not sure. Any suggestians to what would work with the tone zone and paf pro to give me that sound?

Thx! :P


Tue May 13, 2008 9:29 pm
Profile
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 4:49 am
Posts: 5496
Location: Seymour, In.
Post 
Honestly, I wouldn't spend much money on the middle single coil. In the 2 and 4 positions of a 5-way switch, it's blended with individual coils from the neck or bridge pickup. I've been happy using stock Ibanez S-1 single coils in the middle positions. If you just want a Dimarzio, a HS-2 would be a fine choice though. --Jason

_________________
Hi, My name is Jason. I have Kolesars Disease.

Image


Wed May 14, 2008 3:08 am
Profile
Godzilla
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:25 am
Posts: 549
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Post 
I use a VV 2.2 in my Tone Zone/Air Zone RG, and another between a RG with a VHPAF/PAF combo.

However, Jason is correct that any quality singe will blend.


Wed May 14, 2008 3:45 am
Profile
is the Siren's Eye
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 2:18 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Grenoble / France
Post 
Hi viendette,

I owns a RG570EX actually mounted with the classic V7/S1/V8 from Ibanez, and I've recently bought a Tone zone (for the bridge) and Paf Pro dp151 (neck). Ive also have the idea of putting an HS2 on the middle.

ive bought it at my local Ibanez store, they're great technicians and when i asked them for the choice of pickups they said to me;

"ok the Tone zone and Paf Pro is a very good match in your guitar, but the idea of putting an HS2 on the middle is not really good because it will be maybe to powerfull"

if you're patient i can make some recordings if you want to hear the "before/after" sounding.

ps; My RG has a basswood body.

(sorry guys for my english, im french but ive try my best ;) )

edit; for the Tone Zone they said, get a F-spaced even if the original V7 is not F-spaced its better when you upgrade to get one.


Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:01 pm
Profile
Unt! I'm a Moderator.

Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 8:07 am
Posts: 7453
Post 
JasonK wrote:
Honestly, I wouldn't spend much money on the middle single coil. In the 2 and 4 positions of a 5-way switch, it's blended with individual coils from the neck or bridge pickup. I've been happy using stock Ibanez S-1 single coils in the middle positions. If you just want a Dimarzio, a HS-2 would be a fine choice though. --Jason


+1

I barely use the middle single coil on it's own. I use the 2 and 4 positions though, which is more than enough IMO! 8)


Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:10 pm
Profile
God Of The Sun
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 5:48 pm
Posts: 2311
Location: Austria?
Post 
I have the Area 58 in the middle of my RG550 and it's quieter than humbuckers! I don't know why they don't build humbucker sounding pickups with that "no hum" technology.

Anyway, the stock single coil wasn't too bad, so it depends on you if you really use the middle single coil much.

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/guitardouchebaggery <--my stupid channel


Thu Jun 12, 2008 1:07 pm
Profile
God Of The Sun
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2002 6:19 am
Posts: 2298
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Post 
I actually don't have a single in the middle & use the 3 position as a cut-off.

_________________
"I'm not even supposed to be here today!!!"
Dante from "Clerks".
www.joeytorres.net


Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:32 am
Profile WWW
Unt! I'm a Moderator.
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 12:21 am
Posts: 8618
Location: Las Gárgolas, California
Post 
Go49rs110 wrote:
I actually don't have a single in the middle & use the 3 position as a cut-off.


Why didn't I think of that...

_________________
Jason Kahrs
October 1, 1973 - January 5, 2010
Rest In Peace My Friend


Fri Jun 13, 2008 9:37 am
Profile WWW
Unt! I'm a Moderator.

Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 8:07 am
Posts: 7453
Post 
EricF wrote:
Go49rs110 wrote:
I actually don't have a single in the middle & use the 3 position as a cut-off.


Why didn't I think of that...


ZOMG. GENIUS. I don't need a killswitch now!


Can anyone tell me what wire to cut so I can use the position 3 as a cut-off? I still need positions 2 and 4, though.


Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:18 am
Profile
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 4:49 am
Posts: 5496
Location: Seymour, In.
Post 
Here's a diagram. If you cut the lead wire you will also be loosing that coil in the 2 & 4 positions. For example, instead of the neck inner and middle coils in position 4, only the neck inner coil will be active in that position. It will be thinner sounding, and not hum-cancelling anymore. If you don't like the sound, it's easy enough to put back though. --Jason

Image

_________________
Hi, My name is Jason. I have Kolesars Disease.

Image


Sat Jun 14, 2008 3:45 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.