View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:44 am



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 just got my pgm100!!!!!!!!!! need help ugently 
Author Message
is evil...Evil Joe

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:47 am
Posts: 76
Post just got my pgm100!!!!!!!!!! need help ugently
just got it, and only one part of the selector switch for the picups has distortion and the rest is some kinda clean tones!!! whats going on with that!!!!! is it supposed to be like that?? unfortunatley the seller has stopped replying to my emails once i recieved it, the cunt. what should i do becuase im pretty sure the guitar shouldnt be all clean tones!!!!!


cheers


Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:05 pm
Profile
BOFH

Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2003 7:19 pm
Posts: 2220
Location: UK
Post 
I'm not sure about the PGM100 specifically, but I know paul likes his guitars wired so he's got the bridge for really dirt and then the bridge + single coil setting for a real twangy clean tone. And the neck is usualy pretty clean too as far as I know...

Even with a 'clean' setting on your guitar there aint much stopping you cranking the distortion on your amp to give a 'clean distortion' if that makes sense... You can end up with some pretty good sounds IMO.

Im sure Eddie or someone simaler could clear the rest up :)

_________________
Eat a third of a Mars Bar a day.


Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:23 pm
Profile WWW
Viking Kong
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 4:49 am
Posts: 5496
Location: Seymour, In.
Post 
Take the control cavity cover off and see if it looks like it's been rewired. You should be able to tell pretty quick if someone has been there screwing around. --Jason


Sun Feb 13, 2005 4:11 pm
Profile
God Of The Sun

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 10:47 pm
Posts: 3069
Post 
Oddly enough, I was in a similar situation with a 300.

As Tom was getting at....are you playing through a clean channel or dirty (distortion) channel?

Is the volume on the guitar turned up all the way? PGMs are cool in the sense when you roll back the volume, you can get good clean tones and when you roll the volume back up...watch out!

With mine, it was indeed the wiring as Jason mentioned. My wiring had to be redone. Also, when I rewire, I replace the pot, switch and output jack....it's good to do since you're there anyway.


Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:05 pm
Profile
Motorman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:29 am
Posts: 446
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Post 
I'm curious to know if it has been re-wired or not because I'm looking to buy a PGM100 also.


Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:04 pm
Profile
is evil...Evil Joe

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:47 am
Posts: 76
Post 
na it doesnt seem to have been touched at all!! when the volume is completley up, im still getten a clean tone for 4 of the 5 selections i can choose from(selector) even when its through a distortion channel on an avt100!! i dont have a clue what to do now! :(


Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:32 pm
Profile
God Of The Sun

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 10:47 pm
Posts: 3069
Post 
My first suggestion is a new selector switch. They do wear out.


Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:06 pm
Profile
Motorman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:29 am
Posts: 446
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Post 
Just to make clear, this isn't a frequent problem for PGM100's or PGM's at all right?


Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:31 am
Profile
God Of The Sun

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 10:47 pm
Posts: 3069
Post 
No, not at all.


Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:55 am
Profile
Motorman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:29 am
Posts: 446
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Post 
Cool, thanks.


Tue Feb 15, 2005 2:10 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.